A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to commence with the establishment of the Malawi-Zambia Trans-frontier Conservation Area (TFCA) was signed between the two governments on 13 August 2004.  The agreement listed a number of protected areas, of different status, covering about 28 000 km2 for inclusion in the TFCA. These included the Nyika National Park, Kasungu National Park and Vwaza Marsh Wildlife Reserve of Malawi. The Zambian areas listed were Nyika National Park, Lukusuzi National Park; Lundazi, Mitengi and Mikuti Forest Reserves and the Musalangu Game Management Area. Zambia by mutual consent with Malawi later added North Luangwa National Park to the TFCA.

The signing of the MoU marked the beginning of a formal process of negotiation between the governments of Malawi and Zambia concerning the establishment of the Malawi-Zambia Trans-frontier Conservation Area. These negotiations are being carried out through an institutional framework comprising several committees, including the Bilateral Ministerial Committee, the Bilateral Technical Committee, National TFCA Committees and ad hoc committees.

The the Presidents of the Republic of Malawi and Zambia mutually agreed to sign the Treaty in Blantyre, Malawi, on 7 July 2015.

His Excellency the President of the Republic of Malawi, Prof. Arthur Peter Muntharika, and His Excellency the President of the republic of Zambia, Mr. Edgar Chagwa Lungu signing the treaty and exchanging documents.



  • Malawi Zambia TFCA

    Kenyatta Road | Capital City| Lilongwe | Directions | PO Box 30131 | Munif House| Lilongwe | Republic of Malawi

    Tel: + 265 (0) 1755528
    Mobile: +265 (0) 888852648
    Fax: + 265 (0) 755528

  • About TFCA

    The project supports transboundary biodiversity conservation through planning, institution building, fundraising and capacity building for protected area management within three management blocks belonging to Nyika TFCA.